REVIEW: Devil’s Due (Red Letter Days #2) by Rachel Caine

Release Date: Feb. 1, 2013 (UK Market)

Image

Goodreads Summary:

The psychic world will never be the same again…

Lucia Garza is trapped in a supernatural power struggle. To save a friend she agreed to work for sinister psychic organisation The Cross Society. But after a death threat that almost succeeds, she’s starting to think they want her out of the way. Forever.

Worse, as Lucia uncovers the society’s most dangerous secrets, she discovers that she’s being used as a pawn between two warring paranormal factions. Caught in a battle no-one can win, Lucia’s only choice could be to go against long told prophecy to destroy both the Cross Society and its sworn enemies. But what are the consequences of defying destiny?

Beverage: Terry’s Taster (Tassimo skinny decaf latte with sugar free orange and chocolate syrup).

Music: Martha Wainwright – I Know You’re Married

This review contains major plot spoilers.

It’s hard to write a review of this book because I read it directly after I read Devil’s Bargain, the first book in this duology (you can find my review of that book here). The two books are very much two halves of one complete story so they’re difficult to separate in my head. But I shall endeavor to do my best.

It was interesting to see this world presented from Lucia’s point-of-view. I really like the collaborative nature of her partnership with Jazz – they are so alike in so many ways that it would seem they would be constantly butting heads (which they did do in the beginning of their partnership in Devil’s Bargain), but they’ve come to understand each other in a short time frame and are fiercely protective of each other.

The strange sexually tense relationship between McCarthy felt a little unbalanced to me – I admit, I wondered why Caine was creating such an odd dynamic. This only made the big reveal – that McCarthy was ordered to impregnate Lucia and when he refused, she was kidnapped and forcibly impregnated with his semen via a medical procedure – all that more heartbreaking.

I really enjoyed this book and was sad to see that, other than a short story, it is the end to this universe. But at the same time, the stories didn’t feel unfinished or quickly and messily resolved. I just want to see more of this world or more of this compelling storytelling from Caine.

I think I will revisit Two Weeks Notice soon and see if reading it in one sitting keeps my interest.

[Review copy generously provided by Harlequin UK – MIRA]

Leave a Reply

